North Sea Climbing Gym

If I don’t know what we will be climbing, I definitely know it’s going to be hard work.  I have this in the back of my mind every time I go to the gym or go for a run, it’s the best kind of motivator.  i’ve just completed my 4th Krunce and learnt that the only way to get better at running is to run.  I’ve spent 2 weeks this month on an all-inclusive cruise (includes work) in the North Sea, not running and so when my knee started to pull half way round I knew I wasn’t going to get a PB this time.

It might also be said if you want to be better at climbing, then climb.  Well Emily, Libby and Hannah are doing just that in the Alps at the moment.   And me?  Well I’ll be heading back to the North Sea again.  Not to worry, I’ve been reading Mark Twight’s “Climbing Light, Fast and High” and he managed to climb mega routes in Alaska having only trained at the gym.  So I’ve got my heart rate monitor, my core conditioning exercise DVD and some tips on using the weights room, and most importantly my psych.

At this point I’d like to say thanks to Subsea7 for one hour lunch breaks and the excellent gym facilities.  Also Amanda and Andy for taking the time to run lunchtime classes.  Also Jonnie for the HRM and Bill and Lawrence for showing me what to do in the weights room.

 

Leave a Reply

